2016 HSHS Boys and Girls State Delegates

Fourteen students have been selected to attend the American Legion and American Legion Auxiliary sponsored  Boys and Girls State during the 2016 Summer. As participants arrive to their respective states, each will be assigned a mock political party, city, and county. The newly appointed "citizens" are instructed in the duties of the various public offices and function in those roles throughout the remainder of the week.  The week culminates with a visit to the State Capitol.

The dates for the 76th  annual session of Arkansas Boys State will be May 29-June 3rd on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas in Conway.  The time frame for the 74th annual session of Arkansas Girls State will also be May 29-June 3, but on the campus of Harding University in Searcy.

HSHS delegates include:
Back row: Korey Wasson, William Brown, Jordan Utsey, Joey Larkin, Austin Morphew, Bradley Daniels, Cameron Laine, Oliver Steven-Assheuer
Front row: Sophe Sligh, Jordan Levingston, Mattie Vereen, Elizabeth Purnell, Tira Porter, Mallory Whitson